Skip to main content

Sarah Clark

Sarah Clark

Associate Professor, Literacy; Literacy Coordinator

Contact Information

Office Location: ECERC 313
Phone: 435-797-0370


Dr. Sarah K. Clark is an Associate Professor and Coordinator of the Literacy Education and Leadership Programs in the School of Teacher Education and Leadership at Utah State University. Dr. Clark received her Ph.D. from Utah State University in Curriculum and Instruction with an emphasis in Literacy Education and Teacher Preparation. She holds a B.A. in Elementary Education and a Master’s degree in Language, Reading, and Culture from the University of Arizona. Dr. Clark has spent over 25 years in the education field as a classroom teacher, a teacher trainer/coach, an author of educational books and curriculum resources, and as a university professor.

Dr. Clark’s research interests are in the areas of literacy education, teacher preparation, support for novice teachers, mentoring, professional development, and support for struggling readers. Questions guiding Dr. Clark’s research include the following: What makes teaching effective? How can we influence change that results in highly effective instruction? How do we support the learner who may not be experiencing success in the classroom? How do we support both the learner and the teacher in the learning process? What types of support do teachers need to be successful? She has published research articles in multiple national and international literacy and teacher education journals. Her research methodology involves quantitative, qualitative, as well as mixed methods to explore instructional practices that enhance instruction and enhance the experience of students and teachers.

Dr. Clark is the recipient of multiple awards including the Association of Literacy Educators and Researchers Jerry Johns Promising Researcher Award, the 2013 and 2014 School of Teacher Education and Leadership Teacher of the Year Award, and the 2014 Emma Eccles Jones College of Education and Human Services Teacher of the Year Award.